Things I Wish Someone Had Told Me When I Was Twelve (Letter 21)

[audio http://brotherskeeper.buzzsprout.com/26357/224762-things-i-wish-someone-had-told-me-when-i-was-twelve-letter-21.mp3]

Dear Y.B.M.:

Today, I would like to share with you some things that I wish someone had forcibly told me when I was twelve years old. Sadly, some of the things that I am going to mention in this letter, I learned at H.K.C. — Hard Knocks College. And that is not the college to go to. Indeed, it is the college from hell. I hope that you will allow me to now be that sign post of wisdom I wish I had when I was your age. If you take heed of what I am going to say here, it will save you many heartaches and troubles.

black-boy-schoolFirst of all, I wish someone had seriously taken the Bible and plainly showed me what true salvation really meant when I was younger, as I showed you in Letter Two. True salvation in my earlier life would have made a big difference in my life as it will yours. Accept the Lord Jesus Christ as your Saviour as soon as you can.

Second, I wish someone had told me about the importance of reading, studying and applying the Bible to my life. Read, study and apply the Bible to your life, and be the success that God wants you to be.

Third, I wish someone had forcibly told me to avoid having sex until after I was married. And I wish they had told me the Biblical reasons why. I know that it sounds weird and foreign, but Y.B.M., avoid having sex of any kind until after you are married.

Here is just one verse from God’s Word that gives you a reason why:

I Corinthians 6:18 says, “Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.”

Fourth, I wish someone had taught me about the proverbial “value of a dollar.” In other words, I wish someone had taught me how to manage money better, and how to save and invest it as well.

Money is not everything, but money is important. In fact the Bible says in Ecclesiastes 10:9, “Money answereth all things.” And the way you handle it will be one of the keys to your success. So if you don’t know how to handle your money, get with a good businessman and learn all that you can about how to make, handle, and invest money. I will write you another letter about money in the near future.

Fifth, I wish that someone had taught me how to manage my time better. I wish I had learned the value of each minute of life at an earlier age. Time is like money – we must spend it wisely. Do whatever it takes to learn how to manage the time that God gives you.

Sixth, I wish that someone had taught me to have a better work ethic. There is nothing wrong with hard work. Hard work is the road to lasting success. Learn to see work as a friend and not an enemy. Work hard and smart.

Seventh, I wish that someone had told me, in a forcible manner, that junior high school and high school were not times in which to play, but to gain knowledge. I wish someone had told me that school and learning were a privilege and not something to be despised.

Eighth, I wish someone had told me that life was not going to always be easy, and that I needed to take life more seriously because this is the only life I get.

Ninth, I wish someone had told me that just because we had integration in our schools, racism and prejudice did not end.

Tenth, I wish someone had forcibly told me not to hang around the wrong crowd — that it was not cool — but rather, to be independent and to think for myself and to do that which was right “though the stars fall.”

In my writing about what I wished someone had told me when I was younger, I have in turn told you some things that if you were to take heed of, would save you many a hard knock.

Do the right thing and “make Black America better.”

Yours For Not Going To H.K.C.,

Daniel

Power Thoughts

P.T.: Booker T. Washington said, “I have learnt that success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed.”

Confucius said, “Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.”

Cornel West said, “America’s massive social breakdown requires that we come together — for the sake of our lives, our children, and our sacred honor.”

George Washington Carver said, “When you do the common things in life in an uncommon way, you will command the attention of the world.”

Maya Angelou said, “Nobody, but nobody can make it out here alone.”

Leave a Reply

